The Metal Webzine from BAVARIA !!


ARJEN LUCASSEN - Lost in the New Real



1. The New Real
2. Pink Beatles in a Purple Zeppelin
3. Parental Procreation Permit
4. When I’m a Hundred Sixty-Four
5. E-Police
6. Don’t Switch Me Off
7. Dr Slumber’s Eternity Home
8. Yellowstone Memorial Day
9. Where Pigs Fly
10. Lost in the New Real

1. Our Imperfect Race
2. Welcome to the Machine (Pink Floyd Cover)
3. So Is There No God?
4. Veteran of the Psychic Wars (Blue Oyster Cult Cover)
5. The Social Recluse
6. Battle of Evermore (Led Zeppelin Cover)
7. The Space Hotel
8. Some Other Time (Alan Parsons Project Cover)
9. You Have Entered the Reality Zone
10. I’m the Slime (Frank Zappa Cover)

Release Date: 23 April 2012 – InsideOut Music


The maestro Arjen Anthony Lucassen offers his third solo album „Lost in the New Real“. Most of you know him from his first class rock operas Ayreon and Star One. This concept album shows what can happen if you let yourself conserving in liquid nitrogen short before dying and been reawaken 100 years later. In a time, that is complete different to the time you know and where the borders between reality and fiction are not defined clearly. For don’t getting mad with this a physiological consultant called Dr. Voight-Kampff helps him. Spoken from Rutger Hauer (Blade Runner)….a good choice. It is a question of censorship, birth control, religion and other actual themes in our times. All is done with a bit of humor cause this is a music album and not a political roundtable.

It starts with the song „The new Real“. A more quiet sound that remembers to the 70′s. What I like in Arjen songs are the well made tempo and style changes. The songs in between are interrupted from Dr. Voight-Kampff that brings you down a little bit to be prepared for the next songs.
And with „Pink bubbles in a purple zepellin“ we guess what bands inspired Arjen to this song. I like it a lot and is sounds really old school.
Typical Arjen style in „Parental Procreation Permit“. Every musician is doing his signature sound. This is the only rockin’ and harder track of the album.
With „E-Police“ we find a beautiful and rockin’ pop song. A funny song about the internet with a strong chorus line.
Also named here should be „ Dr. Slumber’s Eternity Home“….that remembers a bit to Queen and the Beatles. For the conditions of Arjen a real happy song.

Those who are awaiting a prog rock album in the tradition of Ayreon of Star One are wrong here. This is the most unusual album of Arjen. Not only that he hasn’t this time an amount of high quality guest singers….also the different musical facettes like rock, metal, pop, folk, industrial are changing all the time in unusual ways. Wilmer Waarbroek as background singer should be named here again.
He does a sensational work and leans some songs the vibes of past Queen choirs that are not forgotten til now. I am wondering where Arjen always gets those brilliant musicians from.
Also the second cd is sheer lunacy ! We find there songs that didn’t fit to the first cd and also some really good coverversions original done by Pink Floyd, Blue Öyster Cult, Led Zeppelin, Alan Parsons Project and Franz Zappa.

This unusual album will not satisfy everyone with the first listening….but the more you do the more you will get hooked on it. So…attention !! This album has addictive quality…you should be warned !

It is produced in Arjen’s familiar high musical quality and will enthuse every fan. Those who didn’t know Arjen Lucassen so far (are there really some ?) should better listen to Ayreon or Star One first.
Cause this one here is a different kind of taste.

Summary: This album shouldn’t be missed out, even if it is flashing with the second listen. The only thing to criticize is that the songs have not the usual lengths like ever…for me they are much too short.

Points: 9 / 10

Review by Angel