The Metal Webzine from BAVARIA !!


ARRYAN PATH - Ira Imperium




1. Dies Irae
2. Gnosis of Prometheus
3. Ira Imperium (The Damned)
4. Kiss of Kali
5. Katherine of Aragon
6. 77 Days ’til Doomsday
7. Emir of the Faithful
8. Hollow Eyes of Nefertiti
9. Amenophis
10. Lost Ithaca
11. I Sail Across the Seven Seas
12. The Fall of Mardonius
13. The Poet Aftermath

Release Date: 04 November 2011 – Pitch Black Records



“The seventh path to the seventh sea”

How many of you out there in the world have heard about Arrayan Path? How many of you have listened to their music? Well, if until now you have never heard them, go and begin the listening and you will regret for the days you have lost before. Arrayan Path come from Cyprus and they are from the bands that want
to create a name in the music history as a power/epic metal band, they want to play music because this is what satisfies them and the result satisfies us on our turn.

Without losing no time after the very good Terra Incognita of 2010 in November of this year they released their new album, Ira Imperium, which to my point of view is the best record they have ever done till the next one of course, it is built on the roots of their love for glorious music. Do you like Seventh Son Of A Seventh Son from Iron Maiden and the general atmosphere of the power metal? If you do, just take them out of your mind, because Arrayan Path will show you all these in here, always covered by their personal presses.

Apart from the excellent material, there is also a surprise for all of us and this is the guest appearance of Tony Martin in “Ira Imperium”, he sings so beautiful and his voice is so clean and bright that you think years have not passed. But, when you will finish the first time of listening, you will realize that Tony Martin is just the first surprise and the second one for those who have not heard the band before is the singer of the band Nicolas Leptos and I am saying that because I have listened
to many new singers, some of them try to be someone else and only few of them are real and authentic and Nicolas is one of them. Listen to “Gnosis Of Prometheus”, “Katherine Of Aragon” and “The Poet Aftermath”. Especially in the last one the words have no place, you just listen and enjoy how majestically he unwraps his
abilities on vocals!

This album has everything you need, everything you search if you are a fun of this style, but you better forget the styles and admit that you like this music or not. You see, in songs like “77 Days To Doomsday”, “Amenophis” and “The Fall Of Mardonius”
you can find double guitars on a power tone, fast or mid – tempo rhythms and epic choruses. You will not find any repeat of another band or of another era. Arrayan Path have power/epic as their gun, not as their aim, their basic aim is to reproduce
nice and strong music.

What else in here can attract you? The atmosphere which is based on two climates, on the oriental through “The Kiss Of Kali” where the keyboards play their role and on the mediterranean one through “Lost Ithaca”, which is my favorite song, honestly
I cannot resist this acoustic overture and its unlikely continuity. I really love this song and pay attention to its lyrics; they are travelling you to the seventh seas far away
from problems and pains. But, I cannot permit myself not to mention about the production of the album which is perfect with no extra words. Vaggelis Maranis is the Midas of the productions, whatever he touches that becomes gold!

Ira Imperium is one of the most mature power/epic albums I have heard the last 6 or 7 seven years and I think that Arrayan Path should become more known, so that people see that there are bands out there which do not afraid of anything, do not try to make much money and the only they want is to write fantastic songs for themselves and our days and nights will be more pleasant.


Points:  9 / 10

Review by Dr. Feelgood


Share on Myspace