The Metal Webzine from BAVARIA !!


THEOCRACY - As the Word Bleeds




1. I Am
2. The Master Storyteller
3. Nailed
4. Hide in the Fairytale
5. The Gift of Music
6. 30 Pieces of Silver
7. Drown
8. Altar to the Unknown God
9. Light of the World
10. As the World Bleeds

Release Date: 25 November 2011 – Ulterium Records


“They are the future of power, I say!”

Looking at the name of the band for first time I thought the guys were a symphonic band and at second time when I heard their new album, I thought I had to do with a power metal band from Finland or Sweden.
When I read that they are from America I got surprised, but another weapon they have is that they know very well how to play something that is usual in nowadays and to combine it with moments of the US power/prog metal.
May the title of the text is exaggerated to your eyes, but not to mine. I see many bands every day especially the well – known trying to do something different from what they really are and it is supposed to face the new albums as great power metal albums. Well this is exaggerated; let us face them just as good metal albums. Theocracy belong to the category where the bands want to express their love for their beloved musicians. The point
for them is no to play like others, but to play on the way they want even if this has been heard again.

I do not know how many times I have heard “As The World Bleeds”, but the more I listen to it the more I fall in love with it. It has inside it everything that can make a power metal lover happy, speed, beautiful and not bored melodies, solo which make you be the guitar player, despite it is just a dream.
The last thing I mentioned has a big importance for me and I guess for you too, because it reveals the inspiration that the musicians have in their brain.

Check the solo of “Altar To The Unknown God”, it could be something between a guitar part from Kai Hansen which is being completed by Conception, but it is not, it belongs to Theocracy. But only the fact that my imagination on that moment can be like this, it means a lot of things.

The album opens with a track that lasts eleven minutes and guess what… You will not be bored and more over you will not expect a common track. You will find everything you could not imagine, from European power metal moments to folk and clear progressive parts and after you listen to it just count how many times you are going to do that again. The story does not stop there; it goes on with greater songs. Do you like the first period of Edguy, have you missed the days of the past when worthy power metal bands played for their own without carrying about the people’s mind? If you do, go ahead and listen to the best fast songs “The Master Storyteller”, “Hide In The Fairytale”
and “Light of The World”. Full of choruses that you will not forget. In case you want a little more US power/prog, you will not be disappointed, the guys have managed and this too. “Nailed” is for you. A song with an ending that the big names would be jealous of. Of course I could not write this text and not to mention the great voice of Matt Smith. The guy opens his
mouth and goes for the best flight of his life. Everything it is perfect and the production too. After that you have nothing more to ask.

Many bands would like to have these songs as theirs and one reason is the lyrics. Ok, they play power metal, but they do not stuck on imagination, the go beyond that and they are talking about divine themes. I really enjoy that unknown bands create albums like this and make talking about them as they are the kings. Do not wait from the past heroes to please you, give the chance to the youth!


Points: 9 / 10

Review by Dr. Feelgood