The Metal Webzine from BAVARIA !!






  1. Silence
  2. One More Try
  3. No One Cares
  4. More than You
  5. My Way
  6. Those Were the Days
  7. Haul Down Colors
  8. No Return
  9. Sunless June
  10. Silence!
  11. Shadowed (Bonus Track)

Release Date: 2000 – Serious Entertainment



“Diamonds Are Forever”

Is it a blessing or a curse to release your only album whose worth is priceless? We will never find out how would be heard a new album from Breaking Silence or if they could create something stronger than “Impact”. In a time that many of the prog pioneers released albums with nothing to say and only few of them used to keep the mace of progression, in Thessaloniki (the prog mother of Greece as it is known) five guys united their strength, creativity and grand inspiration for the birth of “Impact”.

If you search for those who were from the first people who heard it back then and ask them about it, they will tell you that it’s the best album that Queensryche had never recorded after “Promised Land”. It’s too difficult not to refer Queensyrche, while the love of Breaking Silence for them is more than obvious in any moment of the album. And the exaggerations go on, as there are songs that easily could be part of any Queensryche album.

“Impact” is an album that all the songs of it cannot leave you crass. You can find from prog/power steps in “One More Try” and “Shadowed” to the most emotional music moments in “No One Cares” and “Sunless June”. The production makes the album be heard glassy. Guitars for workshop and solos which are being presented as songs in the songs. Last but not least, Giorgos Baharidis. A voice like his can break a heart into million pieces. You can feel the Geof Tate influence, but every performance of this guy is like never ending. Only few performers have the ability to sing like him. He feels it deeply.

Search for this album, even it’s unable to find it for buy. But the band offers it as free download. Whether “Impact” is the best Queensryche non released album or not, its absolute sensitive prog metal character will escort many of us who touched it and it will never taste the dust of the disc case. As the song calls, those were the days!

Points: 10 / 10

Review by Dr.Feelgood




Share on Myspace



HTML Comment Box is loading comments...