The Metal Webzine from BAVARIA !!


FREEDOM CALL - Land of the Crimson Dawn



1. Age of the Phoenix
2. Rockstars
3. Crimson Dawn
4. 66 Warriors
5. Back into the Land of Light
6. Sun in the Dark
7. Hero on Video
8. Valley of Kingdom
9. Killer Gear
10. Rockin’ Radio
11. Terra Liberty
12. Eternity
13. Space Legends
14. Power & Glory

Release Date: 24 February 2012 – SPV


More and more people are sinking into the depths of cyber space and spare their time for social media activities or online games. And this is exactly the theme that the funny guys of Freedom Call used for their new album. But that is told not only in critics, you can hear out that something like that can bring lot of fun too.

On the album there are not only power metal hymns. There are also rockin’ and groovy tracks like „Sun in the Dark“ or old school ones like „Hero on Video“ that offer some alternation. Overall the songs and lyrics can only be heard with a big wink and again the music sails in a very positive mood. You will not await dark melodies but typical Freedom-Call-Happy-Metal. We can say that „Land of the Crimson Dawn“ is a little more unusual album of the four guys but anyhow not to abstruse. But it need to getting used to.

The whole thing is also available as digipak that contains in addition 6 songs more. Those are cover versions of Freedom Call recorded by friendly bands like Powerwolf or Downspirit. Besides you can get the album as double vinyl too.

Personally I like the positive vibes on Freedom Call albums. But I cannot listen to them for a longer time. On the other side the guys are brilliant live on stage !


Points: 6 / 10

Review by Fallen (Metal Aschaffenburg)

German version: