The Metal Webzine from BAVARIA !!


SHADOWSIDE - Inner Monster Out




1. Gag Order
2. Angel with Horns
3. Habitchual
4. In the Name of Love
5. Inner Monster Out (ft. Björn “Speed” Strid, Mikael Stanne, Niklas Isfeldt)
6. I’m Your Mind
7. My Disrupted Reality
8. A Smile Upon Death
9. Whatever Our Fortune
10. A.D.D.
11. Waste of Life

Release Date: 12 May 2012 – Inner Wound Recordings


The inner monster of Shadowside is on the loose. The lane of devastation, that it leaves behind, will not be the biggest one (for that the monster is still too small), but it is well-deserved to be mentioned.

Cause the power metal of the brazilian with roots in melodic death metal definetely knows how to please.
If the four-piece emphasizes their softer sound components the mixture remembers to bands like Brainstorm, Symphorce and little Nevermore and knows to elate especially with the cool, eclectic and powerful voice of female Dani Nolden (that will not be recoginzed as a female voice at all).
If they emphasize their harder side, just like in the second half of „In the name of love“ of in the title track where grunts are added, comparisons with bands like Soilwork and similar have to be named (particularly cause Soilwork’s vocalist Björn „Speed“ Strid, Dark Tranquility’s Mikael Stanne and Dream Evil’s Niklas Isfedt were adding guest vocals).

Inner Monster Out appears elaborated and owns some real brilliant moments. Only the dispensable cover version of „Ace of Spades“ shoud have been disclaimed.
Fans of edged grated power metal should have a listen here for sure !!


Points: 7 / 10

Review by Michael Klein

German version: