The Metal Webzine from BAVARIA !!


STANDING OVATION - The Antikythera Mechanism



 1. Scatter
2. Escapade
3. Travesty
4. Black Box
5. Hey Ho!
6. Hemorrhage
7. I Have Superhuman Powers
8. Break the News
9. The Antikythera Mechanism Pt. 1 – Xekínima
10. The Antikythera Mechanism Pt. 2 – Eureka
11. The Antikythera Mechanism Pt. 3 – Apoptosis


Release Date:  November 2012 - Inverse Records


“Progressed and Confused”

What are the chances for a band from Finland to be turned into a great prog monster in the future? Many as a debut like “The Antikythera Mechanism” carries inside from ideal prog moments derived from the ’70s to parts from bands of today. This is only one side of a coin. The other one is that an ambitious plan has always and some drawbacks, which under great and hard work will be turned into the secret ace of the band.

I confess that Standing Ovation managed to mingle the identity of glorious bands in the cauldron of their music. The best of all is the use of Opeth music in “Travesty”, “Break the News” and “The Antikythera Mechanism I, II, III”. You can feel the brightness in the songs through the use of piano where a song can be evolved into something theatrical. You can also catch the slight stigma of Voivod in “Hemorrhage” or in “Escapade”. Yet, these are not enough for the album to be very good. There are avoid songs like “Hey Ho!” (this one doesn’t fit the prog attitude of the album) and “I Have Superhuman Powers” (a monotonous one with the absence of feeling obvious).

Generally the album lacks feelings in some parts and the vocals don’t help to boost the songs up. Jouni has a nice voice, but his “James Hetfield” vocal quality doesn’t offer the appropriate equilibrium. He needs to be more dynamic or just gently, but this cannot cover a whole album, while there are powerful songs. The lights are on, the will is within, the time is theirs. So, we wait until their next step.

Points:  6 / 10

Review by Dr.Feelgood




Share on Myspace



HTML Comment Box is loading comments...