The Metal Webzine from BAVARIA !!


HELLOWEEN - Straight ouf of Hell



1. Nabataea
2. World of War
3. Live Now !
4. Far from the Stars
5. Burning Sun
6. Waiting for the Thunder
7. Hold Me in Your Arms
8. Wanna Be God
9. Straight out of Hell
10. Asshole
11. Years
12. Make Fire Catch the Fly
13. Church Breaks down

Release Date: 22 January 2013 – The End Records


“The Sun Needs to Go Down”

Sometimes it’s better to stop what you do rather than go on and present a shame story that has nothing new to tale. “Straight out of Hell” sounds and it’s good, but nothing more. According to me this album is just a proof that Helloween should end their discography here. And these are the words of a die hard fan.

It’s true that some tracks sound greater than some others from albums like “Keeper III”, “Gambling with the Devil” or the greatest of their last albums “7 Sinners”. But the whole thing goes up and down. So let’s see some very interesting tracks and some not so good. “Nabataea” has an oriental sound, it’s fast and the middle melodic part keeps your interest as it becomes faster just before the end. The next two songs “World of War” and “Far from the Stars” carry inside the spirit of the melodies from the 2nd “Keeper” and their choruses easily can be kept at once. On the same fast rhythm is “Make Fly Catch Fire”. Strange title, but nice song bringing back the days when the band used to play on a fast/speed tempo.

On the other hand, five songs have nothing to say, nothing to offer and they just give to the album more weight. “Live Now”, “Burning Sun”, “Asshole”, “Wanna Be God” and the ballad “Hold Me in your Arms” are meant to make the difference in here, but this is not happening. I don’t think that modern kind of songs or a ballad are necessary in every new Helloween album. Apart from the above clues, another thing that makes me see that this album cannot attract me is its production. Guys where is that cult production of the past; where the guitars used to be heard clear and not so fat as now? I really miss a production like “Better than Raw”, not to mention the sound of “Walls of Jericho” and I’m saying that because the album is faster than others.

I understand that the band wants to go on recording new albums, but the repetition of the past in phrases, titles and song parts do not evolve you. Listen to it and you enjoy it, good for you. If not, it’s ok; the band has many great albums.

Points: 7 / 10

Review by Dr. Feelgood




Share on Myspace



HTML Comment Box is loading comments...