The Metal Webzine from BAVARIA !!


Tellus Requiem - The 11th Hour

TELLUS REQUIEM - Invictus (The 11th Hour)



1. Ab Aeterno
2. Red Horizon
3. Eden Burns
4. Reflections Remain
5. Twilight Hour
6. Sands of Gold
7. Tranquility
8. Redemption (Frontiers 2)
9. Invictus
10. Dies Irae

Release Date: 22 January 2013 – Nightmare Records


“A Right Step for the Personal Symphony”

Norway is mostly known for its black metal bands and not so known for other genres, but it seems that few bands can make the difference. Tellus Requiem can grow and create something special. Of course, nobody can deny that they have received the sound of Symphony X. Although, they try to show that with their new album “Invictus (The 11th Hour)”, things can step beyond the usual.

The first thing I enjoyed from the beginning was the intro “Ab Aeterno” which works as an extra part of “Red Horizon”. Technical and heavy guitars and above them beautiful orchestrations based on melodies from Stratovarius. Well, the Finland band would enjoy to write the most technical album right now, but let’s leave this aside. Even Ben Rodgers reminds me of Timo Kotipelto somehow, but in the end I forget it at once. “Twilight Hour”, “Sands of Gold” and “Redemption” are from the strongest songs of the album with riffs that you won’t forget. Not only this, but also the fact that in some solos the guitars scream so sparkling make me more and more certain that when they have the final sign of their personal rhythm, many people will talk about them.

If you search for a melodic moment, you will find it in “Reflections Remain” where Ben’s performance is by far the best in the album; maybe my favorite track. Think that even that song is not as strong as the others in riffs, Ben’s voice raises everything in there. The only thing I would like to say to the band, is to make the parts of keyboards in their next release be heard as a piano part. Just like like the part in the middle of “Eden Burns”. That piano sounds special.

Finishing the text I have to say, that the bass sounds totally progressive, it follows another line from the rest instruments. Friends of Symphony X and the general prog/power circle find your copy of “Invictus (The 11th Hour)”. Really great album!


Points: 8 / 10

Review by Dr. Feelgood




Share on Myspace



HTML Comment Box is loading comments...